December 11, 2009

  • Bagging

    Normally I like to use my xanga to write about nothing in particular. Small fluff pieces that amuse me. Generally, that’s because writing about something important seems like a lot of hard work, which, by general philosophy, I like to avoid. But not today! Today I want to talk about a serious issue. An issue that really damn annoys me. God damn it.

    What’s the deal with supermarket baggers/cashiers who bag groceries? I’ve been to a lot of supermarkets, some cheap, some expensive. In fact, I go to both cheap and expensive markets on a regular basis, depending on my mood and need (a cheap one being a ten minute walk away and an expensive one being a ten minute drive away.) And as such, I’m in a very good position to notice a deeply disturbing new trend: they’re not bagging food anymore.


    See? They’ll do it for Barack!

    The cheap supermarkets have never bagged food for you. I understand that. Cheap isn’t a derogatory term here, that’s how they self-identify. Their food is slightly less expensive, and in exchange, they don’t clean the isles, put out produce that isn’t rotten, or bag things for you. I can get on board with that, because we both know what to expect.

    But just recently one of the expensive supermarkets near me has completed an extensive series of renovations. Of course, in exchange for what have must been a very large output of capital, the supermarket has awarded us consumers with increased prices to make up for what is essentially absolutely no change in the shopping experience because of the new building. Except for one crucial difference: they’re no longer bagging things for the shoppers!

    I don’t understand it. One day I come into the new store, and am expected to bag my own groceries. And the strange thing is, everybody there pretends it’s always been that way! “What are you talking about, bagging? No, we’ve never done that! I don’t even think I know how to bag! In fact, I’m not even sure I know what a bag is! Lalalalalala, I can’t hear you!” And so now I have to put my crap into the bags myself, while paying higher prices to do so. What the hell, man. What the hell.

    Of course, the other expensive supermarkets around immediately jump on the bandwagon, and no nobody anywhere will put groceries in a bag for you unless you have a gun. At least, I’m presuming that’d do the trick. I don’t know. Anyway, I don’t understand this. They’re not saving money on employees, because the cashier is still around. And it doesn’t save time, because I’m not a packing professional! I can’t even pack quickly enough to get my food off the belt before the next person needs it. This is a stupid little bit of pressure in my life, but one I do not need. And, let’s face it, what do I know about what to put on the bottom? My bread is often squished when I get home. And sure, I could try and learn, but dammit I don’t want to! Just last month I didn’t need to know anything about this, and I resent the fact that suddenly I’m being forced to learn a whole new trade.

    I don’t think I have to spell the point out for you. The stupid piece of crap cheap ass supermarkets have raised their prices, and cut out practically the only form of customer service they provide! And nobody except me seems to have noticed. Argh. I want to go punch something. Where’s that stupid loaf of bread?


    And on another note, remember: nikbv is on twitter! Click here or on the image below to check it out.

Comments (16)

  • People still bag for us around here!!

  • This is bizarre.  I hope this doesn’t happen around here.  The lines are slow enough with the cashiers bagging; if they leave bagging to ordinary people, it’s just going to cause a big mess.  Makes no sense to me.  Especially when peoples bags are going to be tearing open and contents spilling onto the floor that have to be cleaned up, etc.  What a bad corporate decision.  Idiots.

    What grocery chains are those you’re talking about?

  • @arenadi - Well, the four I had in mind while writing this are No Frills, Galati, Price Choppers and Loblaws, but I think three of those are specific to one country so you might not be familiar with them. 

  • You know though I feel odd just standing there and letting them bag my stuff for me i mean my hands and arms work just fine. I always help and start to bag my own groceries along with the person, it goes by faster. 

  • @arenadi - it’ll cause a mess? Really? How hard is it? Come on now, you telling me that you really think the average person is that stupid that we can’t do something as simple as put a can in a bag? Honestly? 

  • @A_DistantMemory - Putting a can in a bag?  Sure.  Performing the task as effectively as someone who does it all the time whose sole function is to bag?  Probably not.

    I also help the grocer bag the groceries, it goes faster and makes it easier for them to move the line along more efficiently.

  • Meijer (the cheaper store I shop at) always bags my groceries unless I go to a self-checkout lane, and they do a good job of it.  The cashiers seem to have it down to an art.  Nino Salvaggio (the ritzy “International Marketplace”) sometimes bags my groceries.  They’re usually just understaffed, though, and not being lazy or anything.  I notice they only have one or two baggers working at a time, so the cashiers can’t always keep up.  I don’t mind helping them out.  

  • @NikBv - When I lived on the east coast, I never cared for Price Choppers.  I’d only go there if I absolutely needed something at 3 am.

  • just more people losing their jobs,,, i dont find that strange,,,

    here tho,, nothing has,, nor will,,, changed/change.
    baggers never have/will, been/be paid.
    its a tip position… just like the security guard in the parking lot..
    a lot of jobs are like that in mexico,, 
    so basically you get what the customer thinks your worth…
    thats a strange conception,,, aint it..

    a tip position normally nets more money than a paid position.
    baggers are school kids or elderly people here,,,
    a 24 year old perfectly healthy male bagger,,, hahahahaha,, no,,, go find a job…  he could work in parking lot security tho…  depending on the size of the parking lot,,, there could be up to 10 of them at any given time… or more..

    the security guards help you secure a parking place,, watch your car while your shopping,, help you load your purchases into your car,, and help direct you out of your parking place..
    i normally hand them their tip as im driving away,,, after ive gauged their usefulness…

  • across the river in wall mart,, they have several express lanes where you bag your own stuff,, and your also your own cashier,,,

    hahahahaha,,, i use the term express lightly,,, nobody can operate the cash register,, altho the instructions are plainly written,,,

  • My first job, bagging groceries, was 21 years ago; the experience of it was indelible, too, because even to this day I remember the basic building structure: In paper sacks, can goods are stacked as a base; next layer, box products–cream of wheat, cereal, etc. Also, this fills all four corners and middle of the sack to maintain stability. The last layer, perishables–paper-towel rolls, produce (that’s not frozen or, does not need to be kept cool), etc. Oven-mitts and other items of this sort can a be used to fill the top of the bag, too.

    Any item that’s in gallon quantities, limit two gallons per sack; plastic sack, one gallon. No other items whatsoever go into these bags for they will be prone to breaking easily. All frozen items go into one plastic bag; together, they will keep their temperatures near frozen longer. Also, all dairy items are kept together because, too, they keep temperatures around 45 degrees, the standard.

    If only plastic sacks are available, use the same basic building structure and proportion the items so that breaking is prevented. Double bag paper and plastic bags when necessary.

    When I was being trained as a bagger, 90% of the time it was the customer giving me the lessons.

    You mentioned that you don’t want to learn this process, however, if you get tired of grocery items being damaged, the description of this process above will help you out immensely.

    Good luck!

  • Kinda like how fast food places got us all cleaning up after ourselves when we dine in.

  • Walmart and Target bag food, here.

  • And they add 5% to the total price of the groceries as a SERVICE TAX (or maybe for BAG TAX as well).

  • Haha, I’m a bagger (front service clerk) at Publix.  And it sucks to be so low on the pay scale.  But I’ve gotten lots of comments on how well I do at bagging that I just never really wanted to be a cashier, plus eww.. touching money all the time.  I’ve gotten sick enough as it is this year.  I’ve had people not let me back for them, which confuses me cuz I’m like… what should I do then? I’ve actually convinced people for me to bag for them, then they compliment me.  

    And yet, I’ve been threatened about being fired for saying FU after closing around an associate… hmmm?

  • They still bag for customers in good old South Dakota. I actually do my own bagging, though – self-checkout rules!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *